December 6, 2009

  • Late Sunday Night

    Twice this weekend I was awed by beauty.  Both times I was doing something I really did not want to do.  The first time was late one freezing night.  Nick had gone to bed early so I was stuck with taking the dogs out.  I really wasn’t excited about going out, but when I walked outside, I was greeted with a beautiful full moon.  The night was so bright that there were shadows under the dogs.  And it was silent!  So rarely do we have silence here.  When we lived in the mountains, I came to appreciate quiet.  I stood there listening intently to the silence and letting it fill my noisy soul.  Oh, I slept good that night.

    The next time was the night that we were going to have a hard freeze.  Here in Texas, we are not prepared for 20 degree weather.  I realized, again late at night, that there were cans of paint in an outside storage building.  I dreaded going out to get them, but since I was the only one up again, I had to.  As I walked across the yard, my flashlight caught a wonderland of ice diamonds on every blade of grass.  I felt like I was walking through a field of jewels.  It took my breath away.  I had to stop, freezing toes and all, to just drink it in.

    Surely there is something to learn.  You just never know when something beautiful is hiding behind a dreaded chore!

Comments (10)

  • Lovely post! I think the ice diamonds must have been absolutely lovely…

  • Your descriptions are beautiful.

  • oh wow haha i wouldve mistakened the ice to be shards of glass! glad you’re having a good time in freezing weather though i cant imagine what it’d be like living outside of california :P

  • That’s a good lesson. I’ll try to remember it.

  • But we have to get the grace to see the hidden beauty . An you have it .

    I like this .I am convinced beauty is all around us but needs to be discovered .

    Love

    Michel

  • RYC : I am glad you will have a family-filled Christmas , Grace . It will be the same here . Our six children will be there at Christmas Day .  
     It is a blessing to have such familial gathering .
    MERRY CHRISTMAS !
    Love

    Michel

    ps : Yes I made myself the painting . 

  • Hi, hi – it’s been forever. Happy New Year!! Hope your Christmas was filled with WONDER! Is your son still in Germany? I remember now that’s how I linked to you was via your son who initially lived in Amberg. Take good care – I’m a facebooker now and blog now & then at Gracefulldays.blogspot.com.   In grad school again & it’s kicking my behind so not blogging as much as I should & would like to do. How’s your grandson coming along with his speech? That’s my field of interest now…speech pathologist in the making. Clinicals are right around the corner.

    Take good care! Abundance to you & yours this new year!

  • RYC : Thanks for you wishes Grace . I wish for you a happy and healthy New Year .
     Love

    Michel

  • RYC : I appreciate much your encouraging comment Grace .about ” desolation and hope ” . Yes looking at  my garden at this moment I found it  deserted , but as soon as I thought of the catastrophe in Haiti . Fortunately a massive help comes. Poor people .
    Love
    Michel

  • Good reminder. Now what is the beauty behind dishes and laundry? she says smiling. Actually I do enjoy looking out my back window at the vista, and love clean clothes.
    Heather

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *