September 6, 2009

  • I’ve been spending some time on Facebook.  Again, my kids got me involved.  They were the ones to get me started on Xanga and Myspace too.  The interesting thing about Facebook for me is connecting with friends from different eras of my life.  I found the head of our commune in Denver in 1970.  He is now a wildlife conservationist living in Wyoming.  I found some high school friends from San Antonio.  One now lives in Canada.  I found out that several friends have died so I quit looking for them.  Others come from the time in Breckenridge when we lived in mining cabins and panned for gold in ice cold creeks.  I found friends from our church in Telluride and those who have moved away from our church here. People I knew as children are now mothers and fathers with children of their own. Sometimes the children look just like their parents did when I remember them best.

    I found that some people I thought I would be close to have faded from my life.  Children I was sure I would be like a grandmother to are in high school now and hardly know me.  I’m not saddened, only a bit surprised at how it has all turned out. 

    One of my favorite things on Facebook is to connect people to each other.  Each time I find a new friend, I think of who they might know and “suggest friends.”  It  is delightful to watch old friends connect and to connect with them myself. 

    I love Xanga too.  I faithfully read all my subs and sometimes comment.  I think that Facebook is a more like a casual acquaintance, but here I feel a greater potential to form actual friendships. Thanks to all of you who write so faithfully.  I am not the writer that so many of you are, but I appreciate your words and pictures more than you know! 

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *