Month: October 2009

  • Fall is here and with it comes rain, finally!  We were truly parched!  Now we have to crank up the lawn mower again.  I am certainly not complaining.  I miss the sunshine, but not the heat.

    In June my doctor told me to go on a six-month diet.  He said it was to give my pancreas a rest and reset my metabolism.  At my daughter’s suggestion I set July 1st as the start-up date.  This means I’ll be on it for another three months until January 1st.  So the diet goes like this: No sugar, no grains, which means no bread or anything made with grain, no starchy vegetables such as potatoes, corn, peas, beans, sweet potatoes, no grain-fed beef or pork, no milk, no artificial sweeteners, and no fruit.  I am allowed chicken, fish, venison, eggs, cheese and nuts.  I can eat any vegetable other than the starchy ones and I can eat berries, blueberries, strawberries, blackberries.  For some reason berries don’t activate the pancreas like other fruit does.  I can also have black coffee and unsweetened tea.  I’ve stuck to this for 3 months now and have lost 20 pounds.  Honestly, I didn’t think it was possible at my age!  I’m excited at the results! 

    I’m also going to several classes at a Bible College at our church.  They are challenging and are requiring me to re-evaluate my self-discipline.  I am finding it woefully lacking.  A good challenge is invigorating though, and I plan to put extra effort in being all I should be.  I sometimes feel like a Rubik’s cube.  One side gets in order and all the others get messed up.