Month: June 2010

  • Whirlwind Spring and a Wonderful Wedding

         How this year has slipped by!  Mostly it has been a time of healing for me.  Like many healings, once the pain is gone, it is easily forgotten and you feel like yourself again.  For a bumped shin or bruised finger, it is only a few days. What does it mean when you find yourself connecting to 25 years ago and realizing that you’ve been healed of something?  I’ll tell you; it is amazing!  There is no real explanation except to say that something that was broken is no more.  Many old hurts are just memories.  What an experience it has been! 

    So last weekend our youngest daughter got married in a picture book wedding.  We had a wonderful time with her friends from Seattle who had come here to Texas to be part of the celebrations.  I miss the excitement of it all; that’s for sure.  This week the house feels more empty than before.  I know I’ll get used to it again, but for now there’s a bit of sadness. 

    For the past few months, every evening I’d check my emails to see if there was something I needed to do in preparation.  Boxes came almost every day for the last couple of weeks.  We got votive candles, candle holders, crystal beads, chair ties, napkins and table cloths, and lots more.  Then the people came and put it all together.  We truly had a wonderful time.  I love my new son-in-law and his family too.  But oh, how I miss my girl, all over again!